Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

 

DIARY DATES

Tuesday 2nd October - Flu Vaccine for reception-Year 5

Friday 5th October @ 14:30 - Grandparents Assembly

Monday 8th October - Harvest Festival @ 9:15 (Produce donations will be greatly received)

Tuesday 11th December @ 14:00 - EYFS Nativity

Wednesday 28th November - Bags2School Collection 

Wednesday 12th December @ 14:00 - KS1 Nativity

Tuesday 18th December @ 14:00 - Christingle Service

Thursday 20th December - School Pantomime Trip

Thursday 20th December - Christmas dinner day 

Friday 21st December - School Closes

Tuesday 8th January - School Opens

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOTICES 

A letter is being sent home today with our Y6 pupils regarding applying for a secondary school place. A copy of the letter can be found here.

*

Bookclub leaflets have now been sent home. Please ensure any orders are returned to the school office with payment by Friday 28th September.

*

There has been a slight change to our menu. The revised menu can be found here. If your child only has a school dinner on certain days, please make sure you check this and alert the office if you need to make any changes to your plan.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reading

 

Reading with and to your child is extremely important. Please see the resources below that support reading comprehension, understanding and questioning.

In EYFS and KS1 we teach phonics, we use a range of materials, but mostly follow the jolly phonics scheme.

We read daily within independent time, guided reading and class novel reading.  We incorporate reading into all areas of the curriculum and often use a range of research methods to in lessons i.e.  books, internet research etc. 

We encourage children to read daily and give out credits at the end of the week to those who have read daily at home. 

 Please click here for reading challenges to do with your child each half term.

Kirk Smeaton reading scheme Kirk Smeaton reading scheme Reading challenges Reading challenges