Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

 

DIARY DATES

Wednesday 22nd May @ 14:00 - Lions Play

Thursday 23rd May - Eagles Rounders @ Campsmount

Thursday 23rd May - Went Valley Pre School Closed

Friday 24th May - School Closes

Monday 3rd June - School Opens

Wednesday 5th June @ 9:00 - Class Photographs

Thursday 6th June - Dolphins Football @ Campsmount

Friday 14th June @ 12:30 - Teddy Bears Picnic

Friday 14th June @ 13:00 - Sports Day

Thursday 20th June  @ 9:30-11:30 - Swimming gala 

Friday 21st June - Reserve Sports Day

Friday 28th June - Careers Day

Wednesday 3rd July - Lions Trip to Jorvik

Wednesday 3rd July - Y5's to Campsmount

Thursday 4th July - Starfish and Dolphins Trip to Doncaster Wildlife Park

Tuesday 9th July @ 14:00 - Eagles Play

Friday 12th July - Y6 Trip to Xscape

Monday 15th July @ 9:15 - Y6 Leavers Service (school hall)

Tuesday 16th July @ 9:15 - Reception Graduation 

Wednesday 17th July to Friday 19th July - Robinwood Residential 

Thursday 18th July - Friday 19th July - Forest School Residential

Friday 19th July - School Closes

 

 

 

 

NOTICES 

Please return your meal choice forms for the Teddy Bears Picnic to the shcool office no later than Wednesday 22nd May

*

If your child leaves school unsupervised, please ensure you complete this form.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maths

 

We are passionate about enabling all our children to be brilliant mathematicians. In the last two years we have changed maths considerably to ensure that all our learners can access Maths and enjoy it too. 

We ask for parents to work on timetables everyday with their children.  There are some great apps for the ipads which can help, but just asking your child questions and writing them in different orders on paper is a great, cheap way to learn them.  We also have timetables rock stars, we pay for this, so please use it, it is a great resources and really helps with remembering times tables.

We plan using the whiterose scheme, which provides us with a very clear and high expectation scheme.  Please click here for more information.  All our staff have had intensive training and are committed to raising the profile of Maths at our school.  In addition to this scheme, we also use the Plan B scheme.

We use Maths4theday in additional to a Maths lesson and we have a 'can do' attitude to all we teach.  We have banned the words 'too hard and can't do it!'  All children are supported with a range of practical maths depending on their level. 

Please see our Maths calculation policy for more information. 

Staff use a range of maths strategies to support children, one area we have worked on is the use of numicon and this has had a positive impact on our reluctant learners. 

All children have Maths homework text book and work on maths problems at home and school. 

 

Videos of maths skills

Subtraction without exchanging https://cloud.swivl.com/v/e76cf50fb39feecc31aa4bc77e81de6d

Subtracting with exchanging https://cloud.swivl.com/v/d595f5fbefeaf79123706e1e6ec1e61a

Column addition

https://cloud.swivl.com/v/5ebf66ebfe5da10b602996994b5bdca1

https://cloud.swivl.com/v/77b0766f71518d7ea58f576220b1e05f

https://cloud.swivl.com/v/bc57fdaac2078a3d2fbe64c89f740f6f