Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

 

DIARY DATES

Friday 12th April - Y3 Swimming Lesson

Friday 12th April - School Closes

Monday 29th April - Inset Day

Tuesday 30th April - School Opens

Wednesday 1st May - Lions after school workshop

Thursday 2nd May - Went Valley Pre School Closed

Thursday 2nd May - Tour De Yorkshire

Monday 6th May - Bank Holiday, School Closed

W/C 13th May - KS2 SAT's

Thursday 16th May - Lions Rounders @ Campsmount

Tuesday 21st May @ 14:00 - Starfish and Explorers Wiggly Walk

Tuesday 21st May - Eagles Trip to Doncaster Wildlife Park

Wednesday 22nd May @ 14:00 - Lions Play

Thursday 23rd May - Eagles Rounders @ Campsmount

Thursday 23rd May - Went Valley Pre School Closed

Friday 24th May - School Closes

Monday 3rd June - School Opens

Wednesday 5th June @ 9:00 - Class Photographs

Wednesday 12th June - Sports Day

Wednesday 19th June - Reserve Sports Day

Friday 28th June - Careers Day

Monday 15th July - Y6 Leavers Service

Tuesday 16th July @ 9:15 - Reception Graduation 

Wednesday 17th July to Friday 19th July - Robinwood Residential 

Friday 19th July - School Closes

 

 

 

 

NOTICES 

Admissions for starting in Reception from September 2019 have now closed. If you are yet to submit an application, please contact your home council to submit a late application.

 *

If your child leaves school unsupervised, please ensure you complete this form.

*

 Our Y6 parents should now of received this years SATS information. If not copies can be found below:

SATS Dates

SATS Survival Guide

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Curriculum

 

At Kirk Smeaton we are dedicated in developing an enjoyable and varied curriculum.  We have a member of staff who is committed to sharing great strategies and experiences with children.

We follow the National curriculum from Y1-6.  Please see our class pages for termly planning.

 

Languages- we teach French throughout R-Y6. 

Art- we love to express ourselves through art, we have lots of art lessons and often subjects such as Literacy and RE to develop artistic designs and drawings.

Science- we teach Science weekly and depending on the topic we have Science weeks. 

Geography and History- we love to teach lots of geography skills within all our lessons and wherever possible we like to add curriculum subjects such as History and Geography within our Literacy planning.  We read lots of non fiction texts which give Historical information too.

IT- we have lots of different technology which we have developed over the years.  We have IPADs and laptops and staff have had training to use them.  We like to use technology in every lesson we do.  We teach a range of skills such as typing, editing, saving, Microsoft programs, apps and coding. 

PE- PE is taught at least two hours per week, we do the golden mile throughout the week too, we access maths4theday, which incorporates Maths and PE.  We have lots of playing equipment at play times, the children are encouraged to run, dance, sing and be happy. 

Music-  We have a bought scheme for music, but we also have weekly singing sessions and  where possible we offer wider opportunities to come and tutor guitar, piano, brass instruments too.

RE- we are committed to our Church Ethos, we teach RE through a range of medias and all staff support and deliver the RE curriculum.  We have collective worships daily and these incorporate drama, child led praise and our vicar to support us in prayer. 

Forest schools- we promote the outdoors in all lessons, we often go outside for drama, maths, art etc.   At Kirk Smeaton we have invested in a Forest schools teacher.  We have a specialist teacher who comes to us each week and takes groups of children to work on team building and life skills.